Poetry–Under-appreciated Works #2

Thoughtful Readers…

This is the second in a series of works that I deem somewhat “under-appreciated.”

As I noted in the first poetry post, I ocasionally stumble upon (and read..) a work about which I know nothing. I try to uncover its roots but fail. It is essentially a “lost work.” Usually (and in fact always in this blog…), these works are unknown. That is to say the author is unknown. Usually the date of the work is unknown as well. These works have existed for some time and because someone, somewhere wrote them down, they still exist.

One other thing to note. Please understand, that these works are not mine. I did not control the author’s writing, or their use of words and terminology. That is a nice way to say that I am not responsible for the political correctness (or lack thereof…) of the words or thoughts as expressed in these works. It is not my intent to cause any consternation among the readers here, or to imply any form of prejudice or bias based on nationality, politics, creed, race, religion or anything else you would care to assign to it. This is the way the authors wrote them….and hence the way they appear here.

If you read these works and recognize them, good for you. You are ahead of me. I did not. My only purpose here is to keep some of these obscure works from fading into the great abyss.

This work is short. The message it conveys is clear!!  Once again, author unknown.
   
 

JUDGED BY THE COMPANY ONE KEEPS 
 

One night in late October,
When I was far from sober,
Returning with my load with manly pride,
My feet began to stutter,
So I lay down in the gutter,
And a pig came near and lay down by my side;
A lady passing by was heard to say:
“You can tell a man who boozes,
By the company he chooses,”
And the pig got up and slowly walked away.

Unknown

 
 
As always, comments welcome.

Be well,
Howard

5 thoughts on “Poetry–Under-appreciated Works #2

  1. Although this made me laugh at the end it certainly paints a sad picture doesn’t it. I especially like the line, “My feet began to stutter”———-“Stutter” tells it all and is quite descriptive but the word stutter being linked with feet is virgin soil for sure. Great save Howard! It’s definitely worth resurrecting and passing on.

    • Thanks Marilyn! I seem to have a penchant for writing things down. Too much history is forever lost when folks don’t keep records. This stuff, of course, is not earth shattering. But the same can be said for historically important stuff…(and family records and photos..!!)
      H.

Comments welcomed!

