Underway At Last…

Thoughtful Reader…

This being my first post, I think I should explain a few things. First, I have been on this site for about two weeks now. I have struggled a bit with getting a ‘theme’ in place that would allow me to do the things I wanted to do without being too cumbersome.  I wanted bright, but not flashy; reserved, but not sedate or dull. I needed formatting for text mostly while leaving a few options for images, and a single sidebar. I think I have something here that will work well—only time will tell.

If you have happened by this blog before now, you will have seen it in an unfinished state. I published the front end in several different themes and formats over the past week or so. I know some folks have seen it in various stages of illumination and disrepair. I hope it didn’t put you off. In retrospect, I should have kept it private until I was happy with it, or at least mostly so. Anyway, my apologies for the lack of foresight.

After this initial post, I have a couple of short biographical things that I will post. Sort of a bio-sketch in two parts. I am not “proud” of my history, but it is the only one I have. I think it will put some things in perspective for folks who are interested in knowing a little about the bloggers who write these things.

I should also acknowledge that I tend to be verbose at times. Some of my posts will be tagged as “Long Reads,” perhaps most of them will. I tend to express myself in words not images. I let the words tell the story and let the reader form the images. There are some notable exceptions to this. One is art. No words can do justice to a work of art. Folks want to know what you see and feel, but they need to see the reference point to understand. I have some images for those times. Another exception is food. Since we eat with our eyes first, it is always nice to be able to show what a particular item or dish looks like when complete. I am certain that there will be other times when I will use images as well. Just don’t be surprised to see a lot of text..!!

Finally, please feel free to comment. I encourage you to do so anytime you want to be heard. Thumbs up or down, yes or no, like or not…..or maybe you just want to add something to a subject, it doesn’t matter. Comments welcome.

Keep on Bloggin’

Howard

3 thoughts on “Underway At Last…

  1. I did not know there were any reasonable minds here in the bloggery. 😦

    I have read a couple of your entries and think I would like to follow you. You seem to have planned carefully and I bet you already have all of July’s post and half of August’s all lined up. 🙂 Some of us (me) just jump in and will be doing well to last until the end of July. Your challenge will be to keep us interested.

    • Humor, I like it.!! Thanks for the kind words. Thanks also for following…..I hope I deserve it.! I visited your blog before I started to write this reply. You find the most interesting things out there (especially when you aren’t really looking..).
      “Reasonable minds..” You obviously picked that off of my tag-line. It’s a mantra of mine. I have been arguing that point for many years….mostly without success. Few people want to acknowledge that others may have valid thoughts…
      “Planning ahead” is something I would like to do more…I have two or three additional entries in various states of preparedness. These initial entries were all prepped quickly to be posted quickly. After that, my plan is to post/update about twice a week (maybe..!!)
      “Staying interesting”…?? We’ll see.!!
      Thanks again for the comment (and words of wisdom..!)
      Be well.. 🙂

Comments welcomed!

